2019 ANNUAL TOWN MEETING MINUTES HARTFORD HIGH SCHOOL 37 HIGHLAND AVENUE WHITE RIVER JUNCTION VERMONT 05001 MARCH 2, 2019

Present: Town Moderator, Chuck Wooster; Selectboard Chair, Simon Dennis; Selectboard Vice-Chair, Richard Grassi; Selectboard Clerk, Dennis Brown; Selectboard Member, Alan Johnson; Selectboard Member, Kim Souza; Town Manager, Leo Pullar; School Board Chair, Kevin Christie; School Board Clerk, Russell North; School Board Member, Peter Merrill; School Board Member, Nancy Russell; School Board Member, Nichelle Boleski; School District Assistant Superintendent, Noel Bryant; Town Clerk, Lisa O'Neil; Town Staff: Paula Nulty, Lana Livingston, Hannah Tyler, Dillon Walsh, Scott Hausler, Lori Hirshfield, Police Department, Fire Department; Incoming Town Manager, Brannon Godfrey; Representatives from Town Committees; Hartford School District Staff; Members of the general public

Absent: Selectboard Member, Rebecca White; Selectboard Member, Jameson Davis

The citizens of Hartford who are legal voters are hereby warned to meet at High School in said Town on Saturday, March 2, 2019, at 10:00AM for the purpose of transacting Town business not involving voting by Australian ballot.

Town Moderator, Chuck Wooster, opened the Annual Town and School Meeting at 10:15AM, preceded by the Hartford Middle School Glee Club singing the National Anthem. Mr. Wooster shared the rules and procedures to be followed.

Motion was made by Simon Dennis, Chair, seconded by Richard Grassi, Vice-Chair, to immediately recess the Selectboard meeting. All were in favor; motion passed.

Immediately following the School Board Meeting, Simon Dennis, called the Town Meeting to order at 11:48AM.

Simon Dennis presented Proposed Bond for Tax Increment Financing District Improvement Bond. Joe Krupa, engineer from Aldrich and Elliott, presented on projects. Lori Hirshfield, Planning Director, presented on funding.

Motion was made by Simon Dennis to close discussion, seconded by Richard Grassi. All were in favor; motion passed.

Motion was made by Richard Grassi to receive report of Town Officers, seconded by Alan Johnson, Member. The motion was called to question by the Moderator. The majority voice vote was aye; motion carried. Alan Johnson made a motion to vote to collect Town General and Highway Tax and the Town School District's Tax on real estate in two installments, the first being on or before August 16, 2019, and the second installment being on or before February 7, 2020, through the Treasurer. Kim Souza, Member, seconded the motion.

<u>The motion was called to question by the Moderator. The majority voice vote was aye;</u> <u>motion carried.</u>

Kim Souza made motion to vote what compensation the Town will pay its Town officers from the General Fund, effective July 1, 2019, pursuant to 24 V.S.A., Section 932.

That the Moderator be paid \$100 per annum; That the Board of Civil Authority be paid \$50 per four hour shift or any part thereof; That the Lister be paid \$20.00 per hour; That the Treasurer be paid \$14,000 per annum; That the Selectboard be paid \$75 per meeting, with the Chair receiving \$300 additional per annum, and the Vice-Chair receiving \$150 additional per annum; such officials will receive mileage reimbursement in the amount authorized by the IRS when a Town vehicle is not available to them. Dennis Brown, Member, seconded the motion.

<u>Alan Johnson made an amendment to the motion, seconded by Simon Dennis, to change</u> <u>Moderator salary to \$500 per annum.</u>

<u>Mike Morris, resident, made an amendment to the amendment, seconded by Jonathan</u> <u>Bouton, resident, to change Moderator salary from \$500 per annum to \$100 per meeting.</u>

The amendment was called to question by the Moderator. The majority voice vote was aye; amendment carried.

Kevin Christie, School Board Chair, made an amendment that the motion pass upon review of the Town Charter, seconded by Peter Merrill, School Board Member. Motion was ruled out of order by Moderator.

The amendment to change Moderator salary to \$100 per meeting was called to question by the Moderator. The majority voice vote was aye; motion carried.

The motion with approved amendment was called to question by the Moderator.

Lannie Collins, resident, made an amendment that officials be reimbursed for mileage only when traveling outside Town limits. Lori Dickerson, resident, seconded.

The amendment was called to question by the Moderator. The majority show of hands vote was nay; amendment failed.

The motion was called to question by the Moderator. The majority voice vote was aye; motion carried.

Richard Grassi recognizes departing Town Manager, Leo Pullar.

Simon Dennis recognizes Town Manager Selection Committee.

Simon Dennis recognizes incoming Town Manager, Brannon Godfrey.

Brannon Godfrey is sworn in as Town Manager by Town Clerk, Lisa O'Neil.

Receive reports of agencies and petitioners: Ken Parker – In support of Article 25 Peggy Allen – In support of CATV Linda Brooks – In support of Southeastern Vermont Community Action (SEVCA) Havah Armstrong-Walther – In support Public Health Council of the Upper Valley Terry Hyland – In support of Visiting Nurse and Hospice for Vermont and New Hampshire (VNH) Hilde Ojibway - In support of Article 26 Van Chestnut, Paige Heverly – In support of Advance Transit

Motion was made by Richard Grassi to close the meeting, seconded by Alan Johnson. The motion was called to question by the Moderator. The majority voice vote was aye; motion carried.